Election Central articles

Rep. Andy Vargas Talks First Term House Priorities, Brian Dempsey Support

Rep. Andy Vargas Talks First Term House Priorities, Brian Dempsey Support

Newly-elected Rep. Andy Vargas (right) is sworn in by Gov. Charlie Baker on Wednesday, Nov. 15. (Courtesy photograph) Sworn in as the newest state representative for the 3rd Essex District Wednesday, Andy Vargas has already hit the ground running on Beacon Hill. Hours after taking the oath of office, the 24-year-old House newcomer voted on

Andy Vargas Officially Sworn in as 3rd Essex District State Representative

Andy Vargas has officially relocated to the Statehouse. The Haverhill City Councilor elected to succeed Brian S. Dempsey as the 3rd Essex district State Representative was sworn in Wednesday by Governor Charlie Baker in a ceremony attended by his family and colleagues. “Andres, welcome to state government,” Baker told the 24-year-old House newcomer when administering

UPDATE: McGonagle Earns Haverhill Council Seat Vacated by Vargas, Newcomer Rosa Joins School Committee

Michael S. McGonagle, left, and Thomas J. Sullivan pose with supporters at a polling place Tuesday. (Jay Saulnier photograph for WHAV News.) Haverhill’s city council just underwent a round of musical chairs. With Andy Vargas named 3rd Essex State Representative Tuesday, incumbent Michael S. McGonagle found himself sliding into the council chamber seat vacated by

UPDATE: Andy Vargas Triumphs Over Shaun Toohey in Haverhill State Representative Race

New state Rep.-Elect Andy Vargas takes congratulatory calls during his victory party Tuesday. (WHAV News photograph) Democrat Andy Vargas is Haverhill’s new state representative for the 3rd Essex District after beating Republican opponent Shaun P. Toohey at the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7. Vargas received 3,889 total votes to Toohey’s 3,403. Vargas spoke with WHAV

Methuen Election Results: Jajuga In as Mayor, Kannan, Finocchiaro to Council

(Jay Saulnier photograph for WHAV News.) Methuen’s votes have been counted. With all precincts reporting on Tuesday, Nov. 7, James P. Jajuga has been named the city’s mayor, receiving 4,332 total votes across all polling stations. Incumbent Jennifer Kannan and newcomer Jessica L. Finocchiaro triumphed in the Councilor-at-Large race, receiving 3,468 and 3,179 votes respectively.